A brief history of Parkersburg, WV
Captain James Neal, a Revolutionary War officer, came to the area in 1785 and constructed the earliest permanent settlement called “Neal’s Station”, located on the south side of the Little Kanawha River approximately a mile from the Ohio River.
The first claimant of what is now downtown Parkersburg was a Pennsylvanian, Captain Alexander Parker. In 1792, a blockhouse was built at the Little Kanawha and Ohio Rivers by the State of Virginia, known then and now as “the Point”.
By the early 1800’s, the village had grown to a dozen log cabins, a store and a tavern and was called “Newport”. “Parkersburg” later became the name of the village to honor the man who originally owned the site.
Parkersburg is the seat of Wood County, with a population of approximately 33,099 residents. Industries such as glass and ferrous metal manufacturing are balanced by producers of chemicals, plastics and laboratory equipment.
A spirit of history also resides in Parkersburg and the surrounding area, providing a wealth of activities to enjoy and places to see for young and old.
One such place is Blennerhassett Island. Accessed by boat, the island boasts a replica of Blennerhassett Mansion which offers tours in season and other activities there.
Education opportunities are plentiful, recreation activities abound and businesses are welcome. For more information, please use this site as a guide. Enjoy your visit!